Welcome Features Dogwise Publishing DVDs and Audio Dogwise Publishing Sale Outlet Toys & Products  

New! $5 for orders under $50, Free shipping for any orders over $50 - All 50 States!


Books & Products
By Subject
Toys & Products
Best Sellers - New & Improved!
Newest Books and Products!
Gift Certificates
Book Reviews
Find Out How
Resources & Info
Dogwise Newsletters
Dogwise Email List
Customer Reading
Lists
Let Us Know About
Your Book, eBook, or DVD
Become an Affiliate
Become a Reseller
Reading Lists
APDT, CPDT
IAABC
IACP
SVBT
Help & Contacts
About Us
Contact Us
Shipping Policy
Terms and Conditions
Returns
In Wenatchee, WA?
Come shop at our warehouse

Save up to 80% on Bargain Books! Click here for Sale, Clearance and hard to find Out of Print titles!
Click Here!

Prefer to order by phone? Call Us!
1-800-776-2665
8AM - 4PM M-F Pacific Time

 


THE CULTURE CLASH
by Jean Donaldson (See other books by author)

Publisher: Dogwise Publishing
Edition:
2013 Paperback , 257 pages
ISBN: 9781617811128
Item: DTB1291

Summary: The book that has shaped modern dog training and ownership with its unique and scientifically sound recognition of the “cultural” differences between dogs and humans. Dogs can’t read so you need to in order to really understand your dog.

Price: $19.95 Add this item to my cart.

Expanded Description:

A Dog World Top 12 Training and Behavior Book - 2010!

The most thought provoking book ever written on dog behavior and training
Generations of dogs have been labeled training-lemons for requiring actual motivation when all along they were perfectly normal. Numerous other completely and utterly normal dogs have been branded as canine misfits simply because they grew up to act like dogs. Barking, chewing, sniffing, licking, jumping up and occasionally, (just like people), having arguments, is as normal and natural for dogs as wagging tails and burying bones. However, all dogs need to be taught how to modify their normal and natural behaviors to adjust to human culture. Sadly, all to often, when the dog's way of life conflicts with human rules and standards, many dogs are discarded and summarily put to death.
That's quite the Culture Clash.

Simply, the best dog book I have ever read! The Culture Clash is utterly unique, fascinating to the extreme and literally overflowing with oodles of useful, how-to information. Jean Donaldson's refreshing new perspective on the relationship between people and dogs had redefined the state of the art of dog-friendly dog training.
Dr. Ian Dunbar, Founder of the Association of Pet Dog Trainers

Author Jean Donaldson has over 30 years experience in dog behavior and training. As the Founder and Director of the San Francisco SPCA Academy for Dog Trainers, Jean leads a new generation of dog trainers to a better understanding of the research and science of canine behavior. She is also featured in Fighting Dominance in a Dog Whispering World DVD, Perfect Paws in 5 Days DVD, and Predation in Family Dogs DVD. Jean lives in the San Francisco area with her Chow, Buffy. Visit www.jeandonaldson.com to keep up to date with Jean and her work.


You might also be interested in:

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Ranking:
Write a review for this product!
 
Highly recommended!!!, February 9, 2005
Reviewer: James O'Heare, Ph.D.
This is one of the best books I have ever read on understanding dogs. The sections on training bring you from beginning to advanced (unlike many books) and the parts that explain how dogs behave are ground-breaking. This book is a MUST READ if you love dogs!

James O'Heare, Ph.D.
www.jamesoheare.com
 
#1 dog training and behavior book of all time!!!, March 27, 2003
Reviewer: Laura Rescoe
This is one book that I enjoy to read over and over again. Jean Donaldson really gets you thinking about the way dogs see the world while living with us humans. Absolutely everyone who owns a dog should read this book.
Laura Rescoe, Dog Trainer
 
ABSOLUTE MUST, August 19, 2003
Reviewer: Scott Ellis
Donaldson has essentially written a textbook for understanding our dogs. From her views as dominance being nothing more than an excuse to do terrible things to our dogs,her reminder that dogs lack the capacity to be vindictive (Oh,he did that on purpose!) and her continious reminder that dogs are dogs: not little furry people. There is not a person who could read this book and refute her wisdom. Patience, consistancy and repitition, along with heavy doses of play, praise and cookies, will teach any owner what there dog truly is: A DOG!
 
Great book for all dog owners to read., May 17, 2004
Reviewer: Kiki Marks
This was a fantastic book and it did a great job of explaining how the dog's mind works. This is a must read for owners who are having problems with their dogs or just for owners who would like to better understand their dogs.
 
Excellent!, June 17, 2004
Reviewer: Mistie Lamb
Tried to read this book with my highlighter in hand, but finally had to give up! It was taking too long because there was so much good information. I will definintely have to re-read this book. Such a great resource! I have recommended it to everyone in my classes and anyone who has asked me questions about dogs!
 
The best!, July 12, 2006
Reviewer: Pam Dennison
the only thing wrong with this book is that *I* didn't write it! Darn! A must read! And even if you have read it once, read it again - you'll pick up stuff you missed the first time.
 
For Anyone Who Owns A Dog, July 22, 2006
Reviewer: working_dogz
This book really helps you appreciate how adaptable dogs are at adjusting to living in our human world and how miserably we humans fail at understanding theirs. This is a fantastic book for anyone who wants to better understand how their dogs think and see the world. If more people read this book, they would be better equipped to work with their dogs on behavioral issues and improve their relationship with their dogs tenfold.
 
Hablo Espanol?, July 30, 2006
Reviewer: Sophia Stevenson
Having this book while training dogs is like having a Spanish/English dictionary in Spain (if you don't speak Spanish). Finally, a book that everyone can understand and that helps us understand our canine friends a little better! A staple for any dog lover's/trainers/fanciers library.
 
Food For Thought, October 4, 2006
Reviewer: Jacqueline - Dog Logics
This book has to be the best book out there - almost written from within the dogs brain, informative, eye opening, clear and it makes you think. YES! YES! was all I could say as I turned each and every page the information gives no doubt to how dogs learn and how humans can so easily stuff up! Buy it read it and learn. Thank you Jean Donaldson for opening the window to understanding dogs.
 
Culture Clash, November 17, 2006
Reviewer: Judy Estes
Jean Donaldson has done a wonderful on this book in that she talks about various reasons dogs act and behave the way they do around a human enviornment. Great reading even if you don't read from cover to cover you can learn not only as a trainer but as an individual working with their dog.
 
Recommend This Book, January 14, 2007
Reviewer: Sue
Whenever I looked at lists of recommended dog books, Culture Clash was always on the list. I found the book at the library, started reading it and knew I needed this book in my personal library. I bought the new edition. While reading it, I had several different reactions to it. Everything Jean Donaldson has to say seems to me to be right on the mark. First and foremost, dogs are not human beings, they are DOGS! I have to say, though, while I valued every word I read, I sometimes struggled with the way the book is written. I felt as though the author has a 'chip on her shoulder'. That she was often conveying her irritation with dog owners. I tend to judge a book by how well I can read it. Do I sit glued to it for long periods of time? Am I anxious to get back to reading as soon as I can? Do I finish it quickly, no matter the length of the book? I found that while Culture Clash has great merit as far as the information it provides, I did struggle to finish the book. Having said all of this, Culture Clash is on my MUST READ list for all dog lovers.
 
, January 26, 2007
Reviewer: Kim Amatucci
This is a must have for every dog owner. I have read a ton of books and this is the best in all around understandable information. I recommend this book to all my students to get general knowledge of their dog and how they think.
 
compulsory reading!, March 15, 2007
Reviewer: Bronwyn Van Heusden
This is a book that should be sent home with everyone who takes a dog into their lives and homes. It's a book that caters for all aspects of dog ownership from basics, to advanced training and to gaining a better understanding of these amazing creatures. Jean Donaldson manages to show humans how to interact with canines at all levels, and hopefully to understand and appreciate the differences between our two species. A great book that will be well worn out before I'm finished with it.
 
An Amazing Book!, March 29, 2007
Reviewer: Adrienne Power
Went to Crufts and everyone pointed out to me that this book was a must have. If ever a person was on the same wavelength as a dog, it is Jean Donaldson.
It is a very in depth book.
You can pick it up again and again and see something new.
I don’t think any dog owner should be without this book.
It has a wonderful opening where people imagine their dog is Lassie, that they understand every word you say and understand when they have done wrong, when of course the canine mind is entirely different to the human one.
The basis of the book is that the author is trying to show the difference between two cultures – human and canine.
 
Great for doggy parents and dog trainers, April 25, 2007
Reviewer: Jenny Chun
This is an excellent read for anyone who wants to foster a better relationship with their dog. Jean Donaldson provides great insight into why humans and dogs are constantly miscommunicating. A great resource for trainers and doggy parents alike.
 
A great start!!, May 6, 2007
Reviewer: Janette RAEL
I am an aspiring dog trainier who has been looking into taking the CTC course in SF for a long time, and the book is a required reading. I have always wanted to work with dogs, and after reading this book, it got me focused. I was a self taught trainer for only my own dogs, and it let me see where I was having problems, or why certain bahaviors went bad. A must read!!!!
 
I Agree with Dr. Dunbar, May 10, 2007
Reviewer: Denise Dechant
I agree with Dr. Ian Dunbar - this is the best dog book I've ever read too. Donaldson's book takes a uniquely compassionate approach to care and training of dogs. She soundly argues against all the punishment dogs get from both traditional trainers and people with an inadequate understanding of dogs and how they learn.

I think this book is a must-read for all dog owners.
 
Essential for EVERY dog trainer, October 23, 2007
Reviewer: Beth Madunic
This book is my dog training BIBLE! I love it and refer to it often. This is the first book that my apprentice was given to read...after borrowing my copy, she went and bought her own.

A wonderful resource for trainers! Thank you, Jean.
 
Family Dog Owners, December 16, 2007
Reviewer: K9
Please take notice that this book has received no less than 5 paws in any of the reviews. WOW! While most of these reviews are from trainers (including myself), this book has great information on understanding your dog and giving you skills to help him be the best dog ever! I would suggest that the 'lay' person start with the chapter labeled 'It's All Chew Toys To Them.' If you read nothing more than this chapter, you would have great insight into understanding how to communicate with your dog and your money would be well spent. Most likely you'll be inspired to read other chapters. Another great book for the family dog owner is 'Don't Shoot the Dog' by Karen Pryor. Thank you for educating yourself about man's best friend!
 
life-changing, December 31, 2007
Reviewer: Stevie Mathre
Not a training book with tricks to teach, this book talks about US and our expectations. And what we do in asking another species to live in a human world. Jean’s tone can be blunt, and what she says can be challenging because she’s addressing who we are. Let her thoughts ruminate, then read it again. I promise, you’ll be richer for it.
 
I agree: life-changing, August 9, 2008
Reviewer: Crystal Saling
This is an absolute must-read book for anyone who is even thinking about becoming a dog trainer. So, why only 4 stars? I have the older version of this book and I don't know what the differences are, but the version I have is extremely negative about things such as dominance theory, but doesn't describe what she means by dominance theory. When I read this book (about 1 1/2 years ago) I honestly had no idea what she was talking about and found it extremely unprofessional to bash something without describing what it was and exactly why you think its wrong. That being said, the day I read this book, I became a MUCH more empathetic dog owner- no longer a dictator, but a loving and understanding parent. Thanks Jean, You ROCK!
 
probably the most important dog book ever written, August 27, 2008
Reviewer: Stephanie Wesloh
This book was an instant classic. There is nothing else like it and it should be read by everyone who has a dog. Points out the Lassie syndrome, in which people have unrealistic expections of what a dog is like. Details how and why dogs are not people in fur suits. Dogs are different than us, and if we mis-interpret their behavior based on our incorrect expectations we do a disservice to our dogs and to our relationship with them. Tells how to connect with our dogs in a real relationship, rather than strive and fail to acheive a mistaken idea of a relationship with a dog.
 
Fabulous!, September 24, 2008
Reviewer: Virginia D.
I absolutely loved this book. It's incredibly informative and covers how dogs learn and how we often want them to be something they're not. Jean Donaldson desribes dog behavior and instinct with obvious knowledge and experience. I respect her as a trainer and for helping bring positive reinforcement to the forefront of dog training.
I love how she desribes both nature and nurture, talks philosophy about dogs but also adds tips and a steps to train certain things. This book helped me turn my dog with no interest in toys into a happy, enthusiastic retriever.
A+!
 
Can It Get Any Better, January 10, 2009
Reviewer: Monica Jones
I got to say that this has to be on the top of my reading list. OK...I was a little skeptical to buy it because of the title (I was afraid it would be to technical) but, boy, just start reading and you will find you are not alone in your confusing moments and the dog's confusing times. Dogs are a great addition to your life but understanding the reason for their behavior is priceless. BUY THIS BOOK NOW!!!
 
Great Work, A Must Read, January 14, 2009
Reviewer: HappyDog
I am a professional dog trainer. There are far too many books out there on dog training. So much of them are full of retreaded information and are simply boring. This is a shame because dog owners that purchase these other books and don't purchase a great work like this one because they don't know any better are really misssing out.



This book is so good, if I were given the task of choosing only one book about dogs to recommend to a client it would be this book. Well done Ms. Jean Donaldson.
 
Essential for understanding and compassion, March 7, 2009
Reviewer: GSDandRescuedogmommy
I am a dog trainer of many years. This is one of the rare books that helps the average pet owner understand the differences, the whys and whereforto's of canine vs human. Imagine living in a world where you are not allowed to lose your temper, even for a little bit, not get angry and be expected to do all kinds of things alien to you. This book will help bring a greater understanding of human and canine together and as a result, give you a greater compassion for our canine friends. After all, they give us forever, we can only strive to understand them the best we can. This book is a wonderful first step in that process.
 
Must Read!, March 3, 2010
Reviewer: Dana E.
This is a must read for any person involved in working with dogs. Donaldson puts things in perspective by writing with clarity and sincerity. The book is easy to read and isn't overwhelmed with jargon. Her honesty and obvious love for dogs shines through. It definitely opened my eyes to understanding the expectations we put on our dogs. I would highly recommend reading this book.
 
A must have, April 12, 2010
Reviewer: Kate Huver
This has got to be one of my all-time favorite books. I liked it from the moment I picked it up many years ago to the current expanded edition.
 
Disney vs Skinner, May 22, 2010
Reviewer: Pawsitively Healthy
Reading about the Disney vs Skinner Dog was one of the most powerful concepts I have ever come across. It really helped solidify the concept of dogs not being 'bad' just 'dogs'. I have used this example to explain this to so many people and it really hits home how we expect our dogs to 'just know'. Thank you Jean for writing this book and helping so many dog owners and trainers do right by their dogs.
 
Dogs Clarified, July 7, 2010
Reviewer: Bethany Crawford
This book should be read by anyone who loves or works with dogs. Although Jean Donaldson is sarcastically funny, once you get past the verbal stings you will find this book a life-saver. She helps you see your actions through your dogs eyes and sets you on the road to understanding. Only you can decide to leave your pride and ego behind when training your dog but Jean shows you why you should.
 
Interesting Approach, October 21, 2010
Reviewer: DogCatcher
This book was a great approach to understanding dogs in a new way. Their culture: living in nomadic families, is so much like ours we forget the ways in which we differ. That leads to misunderstandings in observation and training. Besides, the author writes well and is funny.
 
Amazing book, December 18, 2010
Reviewer: Nick Hof, CPDT
This is a incredibly well written and informative book. It is stock full of great exercises that will help curb behavior problems. Jean also does a great job of explaining why dogs do what they do.

One of the most memorable excerts for me was how dog training is a skill that takes practice and will involve mistakes. She then pointed out how when using P+/R- that this can be very damaging for the dog who is not getting the best communication.

I highly recommend this book to any dog owner or trainer.
 
Top Pick, April 21, 2011
Reviewer: Paula Nowak
This was one of the first books I read in regards to how dogs see things. Jean is a writer you can relate to immediately from the first few pages. I'd recommend this book to anyone wanting to understand dogs, their point of view that is.
 
A great book!, February 22, 2012
Reviewer: Jody Freeland
This book really helped me learn more about my dogs and positive reinforcement training. I had a really hard time understanding the 4 quadrants of training and until I read this book I was clueless.
 
Fantastic with a couple qualifications, December 7, 2012
Reviewer: Amelia Looper
You don't need me to tell you that The Culture Clash is THE book for the dog training enthusiast. Donaldson's use of analogy is exceedingly helpful, and her protocols have that extra bit of insight above and beyond what you get in your typical training manuals. However, I'm not sure this would be the book to recommend to a friend who hasn't caught the positive training bug just yet. Donaldson takes a very aggressive approach to arguing against certain methods and ideas that could be off-putting to the undecided and uninformed reader. Though the training advice is splendid, it also might be a bit lengthy and involved for your average owner wanting a quick fix. Anyone who is at all serious about training needs to read this one. However, I am always looking for recommendations for the uninitiated, and The Culture Clash might not fit the bill for that.
 
I make my students read this, December 12, 2012
Reviewer: Sharon Kirkpatrick-Sanchez
As a psychologist, I have a background in operant and classical conditioning. I teach a college level class in applied animal training at a local animal shelter with adoptable dogs, and THIS is my text for my students. I love this book. Jean has explained the basics, and I can show my students how to apply it hands on to teach basic attention and basic manners to dogs.
 
Recommended for Anyone With A Dog, February 26, 2013
Reviewer: Don Hanson
SUGGESTED AUDIENCE: Anyone who wants to increase their knowledge of canine behavior, and all who consider their dogs to be furry little people with values and morals.

I first read The Culture Clash in 1998 and have been recommending it ever since. People often ask me to recommend books and many times I have been hesitant because there are many bad ones and only a few good ones. The Culture Clash by Jean Donaldson is one of the better books on canine behavior. When first published in 1997, The Culture Clash received the prestigious Maxwell Award from the Dog Writer's Association of America as the Best Dog Training and Behavior Book of the year. More importantly, this book was one of the first to challenge the dominance myth and punishment based training.

In The Culture Clash, Donaldson helps us to understand our dogs as dogs, and not as furry little creatures that we too often attribute with human like characteristics. Donaldson's refreshingly new approach has had a tremendous effect on the relations I have with my dogs and my understanding of why they do what they do.
Unfortunately, the depiction of dogs by the mass media, and even many dog people, has created some all to common misconceptions about dogs: that they have morals, know when they have done something wrong, are capable of planning revenge, and have a desire to please. This has done a great disservice to all dogs, resulting in our giving them human like responsibilities and then being disappointed when they cannot live up to our expectations.

Our dogs' failure to live up to our standards has also led to the proliferation of the 'dominance theory' in the dog-human relationship. This in turn has led to the use of punishment based training techniques because of the emphasis on 'showing the dog you are the leader.' Donaldson convincingly demonstrates that dogs are NOT disobedient because they are trying to be dominant, but because they do not understand what a cue means or they find other instinctual stimulus to be more motivating than what we are asking of them (e.g. asking them to come when chasing a squirrel). Once we understand this and start applying scientifically validated learning theories to training our dog, we discover that dominance is totally irrelevant. This is evident in our training classes at Green Acres where young children are training the family dog as easily, and sometimes more effectively than their parents.

Donaldson explains how our dogs' instinctual behaviors can actually be used to make them even better companions. For example, many old school training books would tell you never, ever allow your dog to play 'tug-of-war' because it will make the dog dominant. This advice is totally erroneous. As Donaldson explains, dogs in the wild tugging together at a carcass are NOT trying to dominate one another; they are working cooperatively together to dissect the carcass. By playing tug with our dog, with rules of course, we are not making them aggressive, but are building a bond by working together cooperatively as a pack. You will find that for many dogs playing tug is a very motivating reward, possibly more motivating than chasing that squirrel.
 
Disrespectful, March 14, 2014
Reviewer: Julie Chapman
The author clearly disagrees with anyone that believes in a 'pack' mentality, and openly disrespects the 'dog whisperer' who we all know who she is referring to. While I am open to many concepts and techniques, this authors disrespect totally turned me off. I wanted to stop reading after first chapters, but kept going. While she has valid & useful concepts, she contradicts herself. She only refers to clicker training & really doesn't address any other way as being successful. She also focuses on puppy training (yes we all know that is the best) but doesn't address the vast majority of people that need help with a non-puppy shelter dog. I really feel the author lost site of the purpose to help people train because she only wants to bash other views. Will not read any other book of hers unless I have to for school.
 
Brilliant!, May 19, 2014
Reviewer: Amy VG
This book is BRILLIANT! I have read my share of dog training books and have gone to several dog training classes with different training styles, and my personal opinion is that Jean Donaldson is a genius. In her other book, 'Train Your Dog Like a Pro' (comes with a 2.5hr training video), I was able to train my Golden Retriever puppy rock solid sits, downs, stays, recalls. Her method works. Before reading 'The Culture Clash', I was missing information, like not fully understanding why my dog does certain behaviours and what my dogs needs to succeed as a confident and obedient dog. The Culture Clash has it all: how dogs learn, the natural behaviours of dogs, socialization importance, dog behaviour issues, and lastly amazing instructions on how to train for obedience.
This one was a tough read at first. When I first picked it up to excitedly devour 'The Culture Clash', I was hugely disappointed. She does use college-level words and her advice is mixed in everywhere, so you have to read her wisdom while getting bits of training tips here and there. I was hoping for clear organization of the book, which this doesn't have, but I soon came to realize, the wisdom is on every single page of the book so I needed to read this first as a novel: front to back (no skipping ahead!). And then tape-flag the training bits and go back to them when I needed to apply the training advice.
If you have a dog, or planning on it, please read this one. It's the intelligent way to train, without physical punishment or aversive force.
 

We are now accepting Paypal!
PayPal Logo
Dogwise and the NCRC is offering free eBooks!
Click here to check them out!
This Week's Newsletter:
A "Classic" Sale!


Frost lives in Lancaster UK and is a Border Collie.


TRY TRACKING! - THE PUPPY TRACKING PRIMER
- Carolyn Krause


LOVE HAS NO AGE LIMIT - WELCOMING AN ADOPTED DOG INTO YOUR HOME
- Patricia McConnell and Karen London


HOW TO FOSTER DOGS - FROM HOMELESS TO HOMEWARD BOUND
- Pat Miller


FROM BIRDBRAINED TO BRILLIANT - TRAINING THE SPORTING DOG TO BE A GREAT COMPANION
- Dawn Antoniak-Mitchell


CARTING WITH YOUR DOG - POSITIVE DRAFT TRAINING FOR FUN AND COMPETITION
- Laura Waldbaum


BARKING THE SOUND OF A LANGUAGE
- Turid Rugaas


CANINE MASSAGE IN 3 EASY STEPS DVD
- Natalie Lenton


THE CANINE THYROID EPIDEMIC – ANSWERS YOU NEED FOR YOUR DOG
- W. Jean Dodds, DVM & Diana Laverdure-Dunetz


FROM HOOFBEATS TO DOGSTEPS - A LIFE OF LISTENING TO AND LEARNING FROM ANIMALS
- Rachel Page Elliott


THE BUSINESS OF DOG WALKING - HOW TO MAKE A LIVING DOING WHAT YOU LOVE
- Veronica Boutelle



  
© 2016 - All rights reserved
Dogwise a Direct Book Service Inc. Company
403 S. Mission St., Wenatchee WA 98801, USA
Questions, Comments? Contact Us
Please read our Privacy Policy