Welcome Features Dogwise Publishing DVDs and Audio Dogwise Publishing Sale Outlet Toys & Products  

New! $5 for orders under $50, Free shipping for any orders over $50 - All 50 States!


Books & Products
By Subject
Toys & Products
Best Sellers - New & Improved!
Newest Books and Products!
Gift Certificates
Book Reviews
Find Out How
Resources & Info
Dogwise Newsletters
Dogwise Email List
Customer Reading
Lists
Let Us Know About
Your Book, eBook, or DVD
Become an Affiliate
Become a Reseller
Reading Lists
APDT, CPDT
IAABC
IACP
SVBT
Help & Contacts
About Us
Contact Us
Shipping Policy
Terms and Conditions
Returns
In Wenatchee, WA?
Come shop at our warehouse

Save up to 80% on Bargain Books! Click here for Sale, Clearance and hard to find Out of Print titles!
Click Here!

Prefer to order by phone? Call Us!
1-800-776-2665
8AM - 4PM M-F Pacific Time

 


CAUTIOUS CANINE - HOW TO HELP DOGS CONQUER THEIR FEARS, 2ND EDITION
by Patricia McConnell (See other books by author)

Publisher: Distributed by Dogwise Publishing
Edition:
2005 Paperback , 30 pages
ISBN: 9781891767005
Item: DTB586

Summary: Many fear-based problems can be overcome by learning how to apply desensitization and counter conditioning. Whether fear of strangers, vacuums or objects, by identifying triggers and creating a step-by-step plan you will improve the quality of your dog’s life—and yours.

Price: $6.95 Add this item to my cart.

Expanded Description:

Whether your dog is afraid of the vacuum cleaner or defensively aggressive to visitors, using this booklet will result in a happier and better behaved dog.

The Cautious Canine will:
• Help you create a safe environment for your dog and others
• Illustrate that what’s called “aggression” is often fear
• Show you how to identify the subtle “triggers” that elicit fear
• Help you turn your dog’s fear into happy anticipation
• Teach you how to manage “surprises” that could set your dog back

Patricia B. McConnell, Ph.D., CAAB is an Ethologist and Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist who has consulted dog lovers for over twenty years. She is the author of ten books including The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs and For the Love of a Dog: Understanding Emotion in You and Your Best Friend. Trisha lives on a farm near Madison, Wisconsin and two dogs, one cat and a flock of sheep.


You might also be interested in:

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Ranking:
Write a review for this product!
 
Very concise but super helpful., July 4, 2007
Reviewer: Betsy & Biscuit
This book is short, but it's full of great information for people who are struggling to help a fearful or shy dog (like a friend and I were with our own dogs, a SC Wheaton Terrier and a German Shepherd). If you don't have the time or inclination to read a bunch of so-called 'scientific' theory, or you have already found out for yourself that giving harsh corrections to your already-freaked-out dog only makes everything worse, BUY THIS BOOK, READ IT, AND USE IT. In it, McConnell (a really reputable expert) lays everything out in front of you, step by step. Be forewarned: Building a fearful dog's confidence can be a long process, and you will not 'cure' a 'cautious canine' overnight. But the author is consistently encouraging and supportive, points you and your dog in the right direction, and charts out exactly what you need to do to see improvement. The best thing I can say, really, is that this little book made a HUGE difference in the lives and stress levels of two of my favorite dogs in this world -- and it helped us owners calm down a whole lot, too! Biscuit says, 'Thank goodness my mom read this book -- even if she only picked it up because the dog on the cover looks just like me!'
 
THERE IS HOPE, November 9, 2006
Reviewer: Kathy Benson
With this book I know I can succeed in making my Pom a normal, happy dog that I can take anywhere. She was abused as a pup and tries to attack anyone before they attack her. I am sure that with the help of this book and my doing my homework with her I can change her around and also change myself.
 
Not as helpful as I would have expected, November 19, 2007
Reviewer: Kat
The conditioning information is useful and practical and presented methodically.

However, there is nothing in this book that discusses getting through to a dog that is already freaked out. Some dogs get so stressed that they cannot take treats or play. There's nothing in this booklet about dealing with that type of situation.

If you have a simple problem, great. If you have an advanced problem, this may not help you.

Good, but incomplete.
 
I love these booklets!, October 1, 2009
Reviewer: David B
I have read most, if not all of Patricia McConnell's booklets. These are must-have books for anyone exposed to shelter, or rescue group dogs. Yet, these books are simple enough, that even the serious, reqular pet owner can get benefit from as well.

As this review is written this little 30 page booklet sells for just seven bucks. People pay more for a cup of coffie that is gone forever in ten minutes. If you have a Cautious Canine, I recommend the Feisty Fido booklet as a companion. Then again, I think anyone, with any interest at all in dog behavior should buy eveything Patricia ever wrote. I almost have...

About the only people that should NOT get this book are what I call casual dog owners. But, I don't think too many 'casual dog owners' are hanging out on Dogwise reading behavior book reviews either!
 
Just basic information, June 8, 2011
Reviewer: Carly Stevens
This book was a waste of a purchase. If you've already looked into stopping separation anxiety - if you've found Dogwise, you probably have - there's nothing new in this book. Spending a couple of minutes on google, asking someone who has dealt with anxiety before, and/or using some common sense will provide you with the same information as this booklet.
 
Awesome, March 7, 2012
Reviewer: Robin Sockness
I can't say enough good things about this book. I keep a stash of them to give to my clients when we work with fearful dogs. This book totally makes sense.
 
Just the Facts, November 18, 2013
Reviewer: Emmagrace
Less than 30 pages but dollar for dollar worth every penny! The beauty is in the brevity! Less is more! Words like: 'Classical Counter Conditioning', 'Classical Conditioning', 'Operant Conditioning' are all used and I am slowly understanding the effects of such...but also the 'simple stuff'i.e.: 'Here's what doesn't work' (and why) are explained! KISS Keep It Simple Silly! I've been training dogs, informally, for 40 years using Punish/Reward (Classical Conditioning). This booklet (and others) are changing the way I think/train...and boy howdy....my dogs are happier!! That's all I know...it just feels better!! A must have!
 
It Works!!!, February 6, 2017
Reviewer: Danae Knapp
This booklet is great for owners of fearful dogs. The method McConnell explains is designed to turn your dogs fear into joy. I am using this method on my 4 year old German Shepherd. Although she isn't very fearful, she hasn't been in public much or met very many new people since she was a about a year old. We have only done a few training sessions, but she is doing better! We have gone from about 35 yards away from a stranger to about 10 yards away. Even at that distance, she is very calm. Before, she would bark and growl when a stranger got to close. I would highly recommend this booklet!



**For those who would be concerned, this booklet contains some language**
 

We are now accepting Paypal!
PayPal Logo
Dogwise and the NCRC is offering free eBooks!
Click here to check them out!
This Week's Newsletter:
A "Classic" Sale!


Crispen lives in Golmbach, Germany and is a Rhodesian Ridgeback.


TRY TRACKING! - THE PUPPY TRACKING PRIMER
- Carolyn Krause


LOVE HAS NO AGE LIMIT - WELCOMING AN ADOPTED DOG INTO YOUR HOME
- Patricia McConnell and Karen London


HOW TO FOSTER DOGS - FROM HOMELESS TO HOMEWARD BOUND
- Pat Miller


FROM BIRDBRAINED TO BRILLIANT - TRAINING THE SPORTING DOG TO BE A GREAT COMPANION
- Dawn Antoniak-Mitchell


CARTING WITH YOUR DOG - POSITIVE DRAFT TRAINING FOR FUN AND COMPETITION
- Laura Waldbaum


BARKING THE SOUND OF A LANGUAGE
- Turid Rugaas


CANINE MASSAGE IN 3 EASY STEPS DVD
- Natalie Lenton


THE CANINE THYROID EPIDEMIC – ANSWERS YOU NEED FOR YOUR DOG
- W. Jean Dodds, DVM & Diana Laverdure-Dunetz


FROM HOOFBEATS TO DOGSTEPS - A LIFE OF LISTENING TO AND LEARNING FROM ANIMALS
- Rachel Page Elliott


THE BUSINESS OF DOG WALKING - HOW TO MAKE A LIVING DOING WHAT YOU LOVE
- Veronica Boutelle



  
© 2016 - All rights reserved
Dogwise a Direct Book Service Inc. Company
403 S. Mission St., Wenatchee WA 98801, USA
Questions, Comments? Contact Us
Please read our Privacy Policy