Welcome Features Dogwise Publishing DVDs and Audio Dogwise Publishing Sale Outlet Toys & Products  

New! $5 for orders under $50, Free shipping for any orders over $50 - All 50 States!


Books & Products
By Subject
Toys & Products
Best Sellers - New & Improved!
Newest Books and Products!
Gift Certificates
Book Reviews
Find Out How
Resources & Info
Dogwise Newsletters
Dogwise Email List
Customer Reading
Lists
Let Us Know About
Your Book, eBook, or DVD
Become an Affiliate
Become a Reseller
Reading Lists
APDT, CPDT
IAABC
IACP
SVBT
Help & Contacts
About Us
Contact Us
Shipping Policy
Terms and Conditions
Returns
In Wenatchee, WA?
Come shop at our warehouse

Save up to 80% on Bargain Books! Click here for Sale, Clearance and hard to find Out of Print titles!
Click Here!

Prefer to order by phone? Call Us!
1-800-776-2665
8AM - 4PM M-F Pacific Time

 


POWER OF POSITIVE DOG TRAINING, 2ND EDITION
by Pat Miller (See other books by author)

Publisher: Howell Book House
Edition:
2008 Paperback , 300 pages
ISBN: 9780470241844
Item: DTB723

Summary: Walk away from punishment-based training methods and learn how you can reward your dog to obtain and reinforce the behaviors you could only dream about achieving!

Price: $18.99 Add this item to my cart.

Expanded Description:

Winner of AABP 2008 Multi-Media Awards for Excellence - Best Dog Behavior Book for Owners (Books on behavior problems and/or behavior modification written for dog owners)

UPDATED 2ND EDITION! Demonstrates how you can train your dog, have fun, and build a lasting relationship at the same time. Walk away from punishment-based training methods and learn how you can reward your dog to obtain and reinforce the behaviors you could only dream about achieving. When you apply the training methods in this book and follow the unique six-week training program, your dog will learn to think and to choose proper behavior. You and your dog can become an unbeatable team, capable of addressing any challenge you may encounter.


You might also be interested in:

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Ranking:
Write a review for this product!
 
The Power of Positive Dog Training, March 27, 2003
Reviewer: Judy Caughlin
An excellent book!! One of the BEST
 
A wonderful book!, February 9, 2005
Reviewer: James O'Heare, Ph.D.
A wonderful book. A great introduction to dog training and dod behavior.

James O'Heare, Ph.D.
www.jamesoheare.com
 
Well explained, July 19, 2006
Reviewer: KC
This particular type of dog training is new to me and Miller's book does an excellent job of explaining the basics. She thoroughly explains not only how to train a dog, but why it works and why you should train this particular way. She's honest in explaining that she didn't always train this way and how she came to see Positive Training as the best way. I treat this book as my step by step guide to training my new puppy!
 
Excellent!, October 29, 2006
Reviewer: Kasey Laplace
This is by far one of the best books on dogs and dog training! The foreward alone gave me many AHA moments! I would love to get this book into the hands of every dog owner in the world. Pat Miller is helping to change the attitude toward dogs and training them in a positive way! Way to go Pat!
 
You must read this book!, November 12, 2006
Reviewer: Jackie B
This is the most inspiring and informative dog training book I've read yet. It helped me turn my dog into a wonderful well-rounded companion. We now compete in Rally Obedience and always have a great time together, he can go almost everywhere with me and behave like an angel. Thank You to Pat Miller and her wonderful training methods and ideas.
 
A must for every dog owner's library!, March 22, 2007
Reviewer: JoAnna
Pat Miller is a great advocate for positive dog training and its application for our own dogs. She's also honest about an instance when she was forced to use a method that was not quite 100% positive on a dog that ran after dangerous cattle. This is a must read for every dog owner who wants to really deepen their relationship with their dog through training.
 
Covers it all!, June 25, 2007
Reviewer: KB
We attended a puppy obedience class - and I really wish they told everyone to buy this book to accompany it. This book covers all the basics cues you would like to teach, along with some fun/functional ones. We started using this book to help us remember what we learned in class. (The instructions are better than what we learned in class).

I love how the book it broken up in week by week sections - it makes you feel like you are accomlishing things so quickly and not be overwhelmed. We now have a pup that is eager to learn, and has many cues she can do in an instant. The layout of the book even prompted to husband to do some training w/ our pup on his own :)

By far one of the best best books for training - great gift idea for someone who is getting a new pet - whether puppy or adult.
 
THE dog training book, August 6, 2007
Reviewer: Beth LeRoy
You got your new dog from the pound or maybe a purebred puppy. This is the book to help you train him. With weekly lessons plans it help keep your on track like a dog training class. Explaination of each behavior are describe beautifully, easy to understand. With basic obedience and tricks, this makes training your new family friend a pleasure.
 
Really Good Book, August 9, 2008
Reviewer: Crystal Saling
This book is for everyone- dog owners, vets, and trainers alike. Though it might get a little technical for the lay-person, I don't think I've ever read any trainer jargon defined in such easy to understand terms. I really, really, really loved this book.
 
Recommend for New Adopters, December 11, 2008
Reviewer: Susan Fishbein
I regularly recommend this book for people who are adopting a dog from our rescue organization. This book has clear, concise training exercises laid out by week so that the reader, if following them, can achieve results quickly and learn to have fun with their dog. It doesn't require the reader to fully comprehend and synthesize the material and develop their own training strategies, which the vast majority of pet owners are ill-equipped to do.

I also especially like the description of Miller's epiphany that changed her training methodologies from 'old school' to positive-reward methods. I think it's a story that hits a nerve with most dog trainers and pet owners.
 
4 Paws Up, May 22, 2010
Reviewer: Pawsitively Healthy
We love, love, love this book! Every time I read it I find a new gem of information that I missed previously. Highly recommended!
 
, March 26, 2011
Reviewer: helps
I loooove this one. It's a great book, even for a beginner at clicker training. It contains a lot of useful informations and some step-by-step schedules for your dog. This was the first book about positive training that I've got and I recommend it to everyone.
 
The perfect book for every dog owner., December 1, 2012
Reviewer: OkoNicer
This is the best book I have found in terms of covering a great foundation for a new dog owner, someone who needs to brush up on their dog's manners, or someone crossing over to positive training. It encompasses all that is positive dog training in an easy to read manner, and really solidifies the information. You don't have to be a dog expert to 'get it', this is perfect for someone who has not read much about dog training before.

It starts out with a couple chapters talking about how the training will work, how dogs learn, and what you'll need. Then we dive into a fantastic six week program of training where dogs learn basic commands and a few fun tricks, with helpful troubleshooting and pictures to accompany it.

I cannot recommend this enough!
 
A Great Basic Training Book, February 26, 2013
Reviewer: Don Hanson
SUGGESTED AUDIENCE: Anyone with a dog or thinking about getting a dog.

In The Power of Positive Dog Training, Pat Miller discusses the advantages of training with positive reinforcement and the pitfalls of training with punishment. The book outlines a 6-week program for training your dog or puppy to be the wonderful companion that you want. In her book, Pat also addresses behavioral challenges such as housetraining, chewing, digging, resource guarding, and more. Her suggestions are not only practical, they are 'dog-friendly' and they work.

Pat has been a friend for years and I was thrilled when this book was published in 2001. Pat has been writing for the Whole Dog Journal since its inception and I have always found her articles to be thorough, well written and very 'in synch' with my training philosophies. She is a skilled and compassionate dog trainer who really knows how to communicate to dog owners through her writing. Jean Donaldson, author of The Culture Clash says, 'Pat Miller embodies all that is right about positive dog training.'

KEY CONCEPTS:

All living things repeat behaviors that are rewarding and avoid behaviors that are not. You NEVER need to punish your dog to get desired results.
Your dog already knows everything you are going to teach him and he always has a choice.
Dogs can only learn one behavior for any particular cue.
Think in terms of what you want your dog to do, not what you want him not to do.

The Power of Positive Dog Training is a superb 'basic dog book' for anyone with a dog, and Green Acres recommends it highly.
 

We are now accepting Paypal!
PayPal Logo
Dogwise and the NCRC is offering free eBooks!
Click here to check them out!
This Week's Newsletter:
A Surprise Appearance


Biscuit, Cookie and Muffin lives in Eddelak Germany and is a Ibizan Hound.


TRY TRACKING! - THE PUPPY TRACKING PRIMER
- Carolyn Krause


LOVE HAS NO AGE LIMIT - WELCOMING AN ADOPTED DOG INTO YOUR HOME
- Patricia McConnell and Karen London


HOW TO FOSTER DOGS - FROM HOMELESS TO HOMEWARD BOUND
- Pat Miller


FROM BIRDBRAINED TO BRILLIANT - TRAINING THE SPORTING DOG TO BE A GREAT COMPANION
- Dawn Antoniak-Mitchell


CARTING WITH YOUR DOG - POSITIVE DRAFT TRAINING FOR FUN AND COMPETITION
- Laura Waldbaum


BARKING THE SOUND OF A LANGUAGE
- Turid Rugaas


CANINE MASSAGE IN 3 EASY STEPS DVD
- Natalie Lenton


THE CANINE THYROID EPIDEMIC – ANSWERS YOU NEED FOR YOUR DOG
- W. Jean Dodds, DVM & Diana Laverdure-Dunetz


FROM HOOFBEATS TO DOGSTEPS - A LIFE OF LISTENING TO AND LEARNING FROM ANIMALS
- Rachel Page Elliott


THE BUSINESS OF DOG WALKING - HOW TO MAKE A LIVING DOING WHAT YOU LOVE
- Veronica Boutelle



  
© 2016 - All rights reserved
Dogwise a Direct Book Service Inc. Company
403 S. Mission St., Wenatchee WA 98801, USA
Questions, Comments? Contact Us
Please read our Privacy Policy