Welcome Features Dogwise Publishing DVDs and Audio Dogwise Publishing Sale Outlet Toys & Products  

New! $5 for orders under $50, Free shipping for any orders over $50 - All 50 States!


Books & Products
By Subject
Toys & Products
Best Sellers - New & Improved!
Newest Books and Products!
Gift Certificates
Book Reviews
Find Out How
Resources & Info
Dogwise Newsletters
Dogwise Email List
Customer Reading
Lists
Let Us Know About
Your Book, eBook, or DVD
Become an Affiliate
Become a Reseller
Reading Lists
APDT, CPDT
IAABC
IACP
SVBT
Help & Contacts
About Us
Contact Us
Shipping Policy
Terms and Conditions
Returns
In Wenatchee, WA?
Come shop at our warehouse

Save up to 80% on Bargain Books! Click here for Sale, Clearance and hard to find Out of Print titles!
Click Here!

Prefer to order by phone? Call Us!
1-800-776-2665
8AM - 4PM M-F Pacific Time

 


FEISTY FIDO - HELP FOR THE LEASH REACTIVE DOG, 2ND EDITION
by Patricia McConnell and Karen London (See other books by author)

Publisher: Distributed by Dogwise Publishing
Edition:
2009 Booklet , 63 pages
ISBN: 9781891767074
Item: DTB766

Summary: A dog who barks and lunges at other dogs when out for a walk is embarrassing and potentially dangerous. Using these pet-friendly, positive reinforcement techniques you’ll soon be able to relax and enjoy your walks.

Price: $9.95 Add this item to my cart.

Expanded Description:

Do you have a Jekyll and Hyde dog at the other end of the leash? Is she wonderful with familiar dogs but barks and lunges at unfamiliar ones? Because of this book, thousands of people can now enjoy being out and about with their dogs instead of being anxious and nervous.

The Feisty Fido will help you:
Understand why your dog does what he does
Make walks enjoyable again, for both you and your dog
Help your dog turn away from trouble before it starts
Handle unplanned emergencies like a pro
Know where to go for more resources

Patricia B. McConnell, Ph.D., CAAB is an Ethologist and Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist who has consulted dog lovers for over twenty years. She is the author of ten books including The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs and For the Love of a Dog: Understanding Emotion in You and Your Best Friend. Trisha lives on a farm near Madison, Wisconsin and two dogs, one cat and a flock of sheep.


You might also be interested in:

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Ranking:
Write a review for this product!
 
Feisty Fido Rocks!, July 3, 2003
Reviewer: Elaine Allison/Canine's Best Behavior
Feisty Fido is an jam packed booklet, filled with practical, humane solutions for the owner of a reactive on a leash dog. I especially appreciate the section regarding what to do when there's an off leash
 
Helpful, Practical Advice, August 2, 2006
Reviewer: Lori in Austin
I found this book very helpful in developing techniques to manage my reactive dog. It contains concrete, practical, doable training advice that I found easy to implement. Of particular use was teaching my dog the 'autowatch' and the 'emergency u-turn.' This book contains information that the average pet owner can put to use, and in doing so, alleviate some of the stress associated with taking your reactive dog out and about.
 
Stress Less..., October 4, 2006
Reviewer: Jacqueline - Dog Logics
If you have a snappy, fear aggressive or in fact any aggressive dog to deal with this is the book for your bookshelf. Easy reading, clear cut information and down to earth training tactics for rehabilitating the wayward pooch. Take the stress off both dog and handler read the book follow the outline - IT WORKS! I recommend this book to all the clients I deal with who have aggression problems with their dog. It allows the owner time to sit down and digest all the information given in a consultation and have back up from the book. Great value.Patricia McConnell and Karen London have cleared the way for dog owners and trainers alike.
 
Great solutions ... step by step, December 12, 2006
Reviewer: Sophia Stevenson
This is a great read, especially for those that want quick, concise information that really works. The information in this book is easily understandable and readily doable. I feel it gives the information that leads to long term problem solving (not just a quick fix).
 
Very helpful tools, January 3, 2007
Reviewer: KBZ
This little book offers effective ways to deal with a dog who is otherwise friendly towards people and other dogs but while on leash is reactive to other dogs. I would recommend this book to anyone with a dog who reacts negatively to other dogs; it gives you ways to channel your dog's energy and change its reactive behavior in a postive way.
 
great little book, March 21, 2007
Reviewer: Debby Hoy
This is a great little book, especially for those that want fast, factualinformation that really works. The information in this book is written as if you were talking to someone. This book has easy and effective techniques that seem to last for long periods of time. I now have two very polite dogs.
 
Finally, Results!, March 29, 2007
Reviewer: Connie Brubaker
When I began reading Feisty Fido, I had my doubts that any training that simple would work. My German Shepherd (Katrina rescue dog with issues) was wonderful in the dog parks but the leash was a problem. Sadie was a terror on our neighborhood walks with lunging and barking at other dogs. I had received training for correction but Sadie did what Sadie wanted to do. Within a couple of successful trials in the comfort of our home, I began the training on our next walk. She totally responded. The second day whenever she would see a dog, she would turn to look at me without any command. My proudest moment came when I forgot the treats at home, a small dog was pulling his leash to get close to us, and I asked Sadie to watch me, she looked at me and sat down. I was rewarded with a comment that my dog was so well-trained. This book resulted in enjoyable walks with a well-behaved dog.
 
Practical advice for dealing with leash aggression, May 5, 2007
Reviewer: Ann Dupuis / Your Dream Dog
This booklet (a little more than 50 pages) offers practical training advice for improving the behavior of “feisty” dogs who growl, lunge, or bark at other dogs when on leash. Authors Patricia McConnell and Karen London explain how to teach essential skills, including “Watch” (”a little exercise with big results”), “U-Turn” (”to leave trouble behind”), and the “Emergency Sit/Stay (”and other useful panic buttons”). Also included: “training tips worth remembering” and a section on prevention and management. The “Special Cases” chapter provides some solutions for dogs who are so afraid of other dogs they won’t even look at them (until they get too close, which can cause an explosion) and information on “Abandonment Training” which can be helpful with dogs who are a bit clingy and insecure and with dogs who may be possessive of their owners.
 
Fantastic Resource!, May 9, 2007
Reviewer: Cam Bexten, CPDT
Absolutely invaluable. This is a wonderful resource not only for the leash-aggressive dog, but also for dogs that just need some proactive walking help. I have used this book to help develop a class just on leash-walking skills. Worth the money at twice the price!
 
Great Help!, June 15, 2007
Reviewer: Tina
I love this book and I have read may of Patricia McConnell's booklets because they are so easy to read, get to the point, and work toward resolution. 'Watch' has been a huge success for me in helping my dog ignore other dogs as they pass by. She now even ignores the Lab that barks constantly at her! There are so many helpful hints in this book! She speaks to you at a level everyone can understand and relate to. If you have a fearful dog causing this problem read this in conjunction with Cautious Canine.
 
Essential resource, January 22, 2009
Reviewer: SWalker
I love this booklet. It summarizes leash aggression in easy to digest layman's terms. I have used it countless times with my clients, and always recommend them getting it. Not only is it an easy read, but the techniques and skills are easy to teach to your dog and actually work too!
 
Eye openner, June 6, 2009
Reviewer: Shanna
This booklet was a breakthrough for me with my dog who had been fine walking on leash for months and then, what I thought was suddenly, became leash aggressive. I wish I had read this sooner as I only made the situation worse on my own! 'Watch' is probably the most important thing I have ever taught my dog. I can't even begin to explain the change in our relationship by just being able to have her entire focus on me instead of on another dog. We have gone from tense walks to leisurely strolls just from these few key elements and a lot of repetition.
 
Get ALL of these booklets!, October 1, 2009
Reviewer: David B
I have read most, if not all of Patricia McConnell's booklets. These are must-have books for anyone exposed to shelter, or rescue group dogs. Yet, these books are simple enough, that even the serious, reqular pet owner can get benefit from as well.







Volunteering at my local shelter, I am already working the 'Watch Me' command into my training routine. Sure these dogs today are indeed Feisty Fidos as this review is being written, but I will use 'Watch Me' early on in the training of other dogs. Somewhere right around the 'Sit' stage of the game!







Again, there is more stuff here that any dog owner can use, not just for Feisty Fidos! And... Information that just may prevent a Friendly Fido from turning Fiesty later.
 
Wonderful Info - A Great Mistake purchase!, August 5, 2010
Reviewer: Kirbyjakobs
So I actually ordered this book by mistake (thinking I was ordering a different booklet) and now think it was one of the best mistakes I have made. All of the McConnell/London booklets I have tried so far have been awesome. Small enough to digest them easily without being overwhelming, they are chock full of information with details and examples of real life practices that are sometimes lost in larger books. The watch me command can be a life saver.. not just for the feisty fido, but in other situations as well. 5 paws up!
 
MUST READ!, January 7, 2011
Reviewer: Elaine Chan Whitlow
This booklet is SIMPLE, to the point! It's very helpful for any dog owner who's dog is experiencing leash reactivity. It is a must read, must have for all dog trainers. I read this booklet over and over again and use the exercise in my training to benefit dogs that have leash reactive concern.
I rate this booklet one of the must have in the tool box if you work with any dog that is leash reactive. and it is great book to read for all dog owner.
I enjoyed this book very much, and love every bit of the information. I will continue recommending this book to my clients and share the exercises that I've learned
 
Concise help for leash aggression, June 12, 2012
Reviewer: Sue Brown, MNM, CDBC, CPDT-KA - The Light of Dog
If your dog barks and lunges at other dogs while out on walks, you are not alone. It can be embarrassing and frustrating, which often makes people avoid walks altogether. This concise booklet gives you easy-to-follow steps to address this issue. This is the best place to start if you are having this issue so you can get back to enjoying your walks!
 

We are now accepting Paypal!
PayPal Logo
Dogwise and the NCRC is offering free eBooks!
Click here to check them out!
This Week's Newsletter:
A "Classic" Sale!


Jackie JuJu Bean lives in Oklahoma and is a Miniature Dachschund.


TRY TRACKING! - THE PUPPY TRACKING PRIMER
- Carolyn Krause


LOVE HAS NO AGE LIMIT - WELCOMING AN ADOPTED DOG INTO YOUR HOME
- Patricia McConnell and Karen London


HOW TO FOSTER DOGS - FROM HOMELESS TO HOMEWARD BOUND
- Pat Miller


FROM BIRDBRAINED TO BRILLIANT - TRAINING THE SPORTING DOG TO BE A GREAT COMPANION
- Dawn Antoniak-Mitchell


CARTING WITH YOUR DOG - POSITIVE DRAFT TRAINING FOR FUN AND COMPETITION
- Laura Waldbaum


BARKING THE SOUND OF A LANGUAGE
- Turid Rugaas


CANINE MASSAGE IN 3 EASY STEPS DVD
- Natalie Lenton


THE CANINE THYROID EPIDEMIC – ANSWERS YOU NEED FOR YOUR DOG
- W. Jean Dodds, DVM & Diana Laverdure-Dunetz


FROM HOOFBEATS TO DOGSTEPS - A LIFE OF LISTENING TO AND LEARNING FROM ANIMALS
- Rachel Page Elliott


THE BUSINESS OF DOG WALKING - HOW TO MAKE A LIVING DOING WHAT YOU LOVE
- Veronica Boutelle



  
© 2016 - All rights reserved
Dogwise a Direct Book Service Inc. Company
403 S. Mission St., Wenatchee WA 98801, USA
Questions, Comments? Contact Us
Please read our Privacy Policy