Welcome Features Dogwise Publishing DVDs and Audio Dogwise Publishing Sale Outlet Toys & Products  

New! $5 for orders under $50, Free shipping for any orders over $50 - All 50 States!


Books & Products
By Subject
Toys & Products
Best Sellers - New & Improved!
Newest Books and Products!
Gift Certificates
Book Reviews
Find Out How
Resources & Info
Dogwise Newsletters
Dogwise Email List
Customer Reading
Lists
Let Us Know About
Your Book, eBook, or DVD
Become an Affiliate
Become a Reseller
Reading Lists
APDT, CPDT
IAABC
IACP
SVBT
Help & Contacts
About Us
Contact Us
Shipping Policy
Terms and Conditions
Returns
In Wenatchee, WA?
Come shop at our warehouse

Save up to 80% on Bargain Books! Click here for Sale, Clearance and hard to find Out of Print titles!
Click Here!

Prefer to order by phone? Call Us!
1-800-776-2665
8AM - 4PM M-F Pacific Time

 


CLICK TO CALM - HEALING THE AGGRESSIVE DOG
by Emma Parsons (See other books by author)

Publisher: Sunshine Books
Edition:
2004 Paperback , 181 pages
ISBN: 1890948209
Item: DTB825

Summary: More than 40 exercises in an easy-to-follow training recipe format, including how to desensitize your dog to approaching stranger dogs; have your dog perform canine calming signals, instead of aggressive displays, on cue; use your own body language when under stress as a cue for your dog to remain calm; and many more creative and effective uses of managing behavior through clicker training.

Price: $24.95 Add this item to my cart.

Expanded Description:

When Emma Parsons, canine trainer and behavior consultant, discovered that her own prized golden retriever was aggressive toward other dogs and that traditional remedies took his reactivity to nightmarish levels, she turned to clicker training. In the process, Emma developed innovative and highly effective strategies to calm, alter, and re-shape her dog's aggressive displays. Her work has since helped many clients successfully reduce and even erase their dogs' reactivity.

More than 40 exercises in an easy-to-follow training recipe format, teaching how to:
*Desensitize your dog to approaching stranger dogs
*Allow you to grab your dog's collar without him snapping
*Have your dog perform canine calming signals, instead of aggressive displays, on cue
*Have your dog turn and give you eye contact whenever another dog approaches, or you tighten on the leash
*Use your own body language when under stress as a cue for your dog to remain calm
...and many more creative and effective uses of managing behavior through clicker training!


You might also be interested in:

Customer Reviews
Average Customer Ranking:
Write a review for this product!
 
Must Read!, December 15, 2004
Reviewer: Susan Conant
Written with compassion and respect for dogs and owners, CLICK TO CALM is essential reading for anyone whose dog shows frightening or worrisome behavior. It is, however, far more than a first-rate guide to managing the dog that displays aggression to other dogs or to human beings. It is also a wise and practical guide for all of us about achieving peaceful, happy relationships with our dogs. It is simply superb.
 
TOP NOTCH!, February 13, 2005
Reviewer: Caryl-Rose Pofcher, Owner - My Dog, LLC
Emma Parson's book is a significant breakthrough. Grounded in science, proven by experience, and tempered with a fine understanding of canines and humans, it is a must read for anyone who works with, owns, knows, or simply cares about dogs. You'll read and re-read this book and return to it repeatedly as a reference. We've long needed this book and now it is here!
 
WOW!!!, May 28, 2005
Reviewer: Lori Hannah-Zoee's~room
The name alone is worth it. Emma Parsons Thank You for this book! This book really teaches how to 'heal' your dogs unwanted, reactive behavior and change the snarling and snapping, etc into pleasant and attentive,ect. All the while healing yourself too. Sorry for the lack of witty remarks. The book was just plain good!
 
It works, October 9, 2005
Reviewer: John B
This book contains excellent descriptions of techniques that helped me make noticeable progress with my own difficult dog.

If you carefully apply techniques from this book, and have access to 'bomb proof' dogs you could have similar success. You must have patience and access to appropriate dogs for the techniques to work. The book is clear that things take time and must be taken in tiny increments. Don't rush things!

Some of the techniques are covered in other books, but the way this book is organized in 'Recipes', makes this book one of the more valuable in my collection. Also, Parsons really gets into the way things need to change on both ends of the leash.

Two years ago a dog aggressive dog landed in my life. I have been working with her for two years and made noticeable progress using the techniques in this book; I wish I had found it earlier.

Very recently we graduated to using Parson's drills where you have your dog approach and a bomb-proof dog. We practiced this many, many times ... progress has been amazing. She now can approach many other dogs, touch, and returns to me.

She still has a long way to go and I doubt she'll be a dog-park diva, but I've started taking her to fun matches in rally and agility and both she (and I) can now cope with the crowds and make it through the events.
 
Helpful & Easy to Understand, July 13, 2006
Reviewer: Kibby's mom
This book is not only helpful, but also makes you realize that you are not alone if your dog is 'less than perfect'. I used to 'click' my dog for keeping her attention on me and not paying attention to the other dogs she sees. Now I 'click' her for looking at another dog and looking back at me! It has made a difference! I can see in her face the expression of 'mom I looked at that dog now reward me'! This book is easy to follow and understand.
 
FANTASTIC!, March 29, 2007
Reviewer: Michelle Douglas CPDT CDBC
This book is extremely helpful in healing not only aggressive behaviors, but also anxiety-based behaviors as well! I highly recommend it to anyone dealing with a dog who just can't seem to focus when there is even the smallest amount of distraction. The 'recipes' for marking calmness and building relaxed behaviors are wonderful and easy to implement. Order this book, and a clicker, now!

Michelle Douglas CPDT CDBC
www.refinedcanine.com
 
Excellent!, April 30, 2007
Reviewer: Ann Dupuis / Your Dream Dog
“Click to Calm,” by Emma Parsons, provides an excellent program of desensitization and counterconditioning to help aggressive and reactive dogs maintain themselves in their “thinking brain” rather than their “reacting brain.” The exercises in this book, when applied consistently and at the dog’s own pace, will gradually alter the dog’s perceptions and emotions, reducing fear and reactivity. “Recipes” for teaching specific skills are easy to follow and make a big difference in the handler’s ability to “read” the dog and keep the dog’s attention even in the face of distraction. They also aid the dog’s impulse control and ability to concentrate on the handler. Highly recommended for anyone with a “reactive” dog (who barks, snaps, lunges, or otherwise reacts in unwanted ways to other dogs or scary objects or even people).
 
What happened to my dog???, March 29, 2008
Reviewer: Alicia K
This books changed my girls life!! She is a 3 year old Malamute/Pitbull and was very growly and reactive towards other dogs. She expected to sniff them, but don't they dare sniff her! It was okay if she wanted to say hi, but when she was done, they had better leave her alone! She figured she had something every other dog didn't, and she did.... a bad attitude! It was unacceptable. It started more then a few fights and was getting embarrassing. I bought this book and it has become my bible! She is different dog now. She can now tolerate greetings then I call her away and re-focus her. She has never been one that liked to play with and greet every dog she saw, she is very selective, but at least she will now tolerate those rude and rambunctious ones we come across and the fights have vanished. 5 paws up!!!
 
I agree, it is outstanding, April 19, 2008
Reviewer: Rosana Hart, training-dogs.com
I share the others' opinions that this is an outstanding book. I taught my mildly aggressive dog to make eye contact with me, and found that a useful tool. Am currently doing a variety of the exercises and was glad to discover there is a Yahoo group devoted to this book.

It's very heartfelt.
 
GREAT BOOK, March 21, 2009
Reviewer: Veronica
I have used these methods to rehabilitate rescue dogs. Especially bully breeds. Wonderful way to help a highly reactive, fearful or shy dog gain confidence. GREAT BOOK
 
The Best Around, February 26, 2010
Reviewer: springermom
When you have a reactive dog you love dearly, you are always on the alert for management techniques. Emma Parson's 'Click to Calm' is the bible for owners struggling with fearful canines. First of all, Parsons has empathy and understanding for reactive dog owners. She knows first hand what it takes to succeed by using clicker training, positive reenforcement, patience, and management. The book includes many excellent strategies, from desensitizing your dog to approaching dogs to teaching yourself how to remain calm in difficult situations. This is a book you will refer to again and again.
 
A Must for Instructors, July 8, 2010
Reviewer: Bethany Crawford
As a dog trainer I often end up recommending this book to owners of reactive dogs. It is written in a language everyone can understand and can continue to be used by the dogs' owner as their dog progresses. The exercises are clearly written and easily tailored. This book gives the owner knowledge, understanding, and humane advice that is lacking for many owners.
 
A Must Book!, February 22, 2012
Reviewer: Jody Freeland
This book is recommended to all our clients with reactive dogs. We use it as our textbook in reactive dog classes. Emma Parsons, through her own trials with her reactive dog, has designed a program that is effective and easy for any person.
 
Skills for the Troubled Dog, April 24, 2014
Reviewer: Amelia Looper
It's often said that the path to mastery begins with mastering the fundamentals. The exercises laid out in exquisite detail in this book are the go-to essentials for any dog, especially one with 'issues'. I particularly enjoy that the emphasis is on giving dogs (and handlers) specific skills with which to cope with problem situations. While it appears medium-length, this is an information dense read, highly re-readable, and thus a great value.
 
Very informative, April 27, 2014
Reviewer: Amy VG
I have read many dog training books over the last year. When we adopted a puppy, I was worried I would make a mistake so I started reading everything I could about training. I am sure I have made a lot of mistakes along the way! Our puppy is now one and has been socialized to everything and everyone. But he can be 'bossy' at times, to dogs and to some people, like men who have rough housed with him (my dog loves it). So I read this book to see if I could prevent any further bossiness or it turning into aggression. I absolutely love Emma Parson simple but effective suggestions and have applied them with great success. He is rarely bossy (he used to demand attention from my husband by barking at him) and listens very well to instructions from all family members. I have tried many different training methods along the way with my previous dogs: Caser's methods, with treats, without treats with more physical force , etc, and I have found that my golden responds the best with clicker training. It's a highly intelligent way to train dogs, and, from my experience, highly effective if done properly. But I know every dog is different, and the training needs to be adapted to each individual dog.
 
Excellent training resource, September 11, 2015
Reviewer: Johanna Bouchard
An excellent training resource for aggressive dogs, Parsons made the switch from traditional punishment-based training after various 'professional trainers' attempts to 'correct' her aggressive dog resulted in a worsening and deeper ingraining of the aggressive behavior.

Click To Calm discusses differences between positive and punishment based training methods, and the positive methods she used to help her dog overcome his aggression.

Primarily focused on the 'Look-At-That' technique, where the handler clicks and rewards the dog for looking at his or her trigger from a safe distance, below threshold, this book is designed to reduce your dog's emotional response to triggers through systematic-desensitization and counter-conditioning.

This book is very thorough, and broken down into simple and easy to follow segments, making it extremely user-friendly. It relies on pre-planned 'set-ups', where there must be a stationary decoy or trigger, so you will have to have a helper or willing partner to practice (I use strangers at the park- they usually have no intention of interacting with my dog and pretend not to mind that I'm following them around with an insane dog :)

I have used this technique with some success with my aggressive rescue dog, but find it is not practical in the 'real world' i.e., walks etc. Highly recommend this book in conjunction with Behavior Adjustment Training by Grisha Stewart, and Control Unleashed by Leslie McDevitt.
 

We are now accepting Paypal!
PayPal Logo
Dogwise and the NCRC is offering free eBooks!
Click here to check them out!
This Week's Newsletter:
Backlist Sale #1!


Winston Smith lives in Tandil, Argentina and is a undefined mix.


TRY TRACKING! - THE PUPPY TRACKING PRIMER
- Carolyn Krause


LOVE HAS NO AGE LIMIT - WELCOMING AN ADOPTED DOG INTO YOUR HOME
- Patricia McConnell and Karen London


HOW TO FOSTER DOGS - FROM HOMELESS TO HOMEWARD BOUND
- Pat Miller


FROM BIRDBRAINED TO BRILLIANT - TRAINING THE SPORTING DOG TO BE A GREAT COMPANION
- Dawn Antoniak-Mitchell


CARTING WITH YOUR DOG - POSITIVE DRAFT TRAINING FOR FUN AND COMPETITION
- Laura Waldbaum


BARKING THE SOUND OF A LANGUAGE
- Turid Rugaas


CANINE MASSAGE IN 3 EASY STEPS DVD
- Natalie Lenton


THE CANINE THYROID EPIDEMIC – ANSWERS YOU NEED FOR YOUR DOG
- W. Jean Dodds, DVM & Diana Laverdure-Dunetz


FROM HOOFBEATS TO DOGSTEPS - A LIFE OF LISTENING TO AND LEARNING FROM ANIMALS
- Rachel Page Elliott


THE BUSINESS OF DOG WALKING - HOW TO MAKE A LIVING DOING WHAT YOU LOVE
- Veronica Boutelle



  
© 2016 - All rights reserved
Dogwise a Direct Book Service Inc. Company
403 S. Mission St., Wenatchee WA 98801, USA
Questions, Comments? Contact Us
Please read our Privacy Policy